Lab testing

More
9 years 5 months ago #9472 by Brian Mc
Lab testing was created by Brian Mc
Message into the club inbox about some lab testing - drop me a line here if you're interested and suitable for Karl's studies, and I'll pass on your details.

Hi guys,

My name is Karl Cogan and I am a PhD student majoring in exercise physiology and sports nutrition in UCD. We are going to be running a research study soon investigating the effects of different combinations of carbohydrate and protein on recovery of muscle from exercise. We are currently looking for trained male cyclists to participate between the ages of 18-35yrs. Participants would be required to visit the exercise physiology lab in UCD on four separate occasions.

During visit 1, participants will have their stature and body composition (%fat and muscle) assessed using a whole-body scan known as a DEXA scan. Then, on a stationary bike, we will perform a VO2max exercise test (8 to 15 min) to determine levels of aerobic fitness. These two tests are the gold standard in assessing body composition and aerobic fitness levels. The total duration of visit 1 will be approximately 1 hour.